First female chief executive appointed at The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust

Published: 1 Aug 2015

Author: Helen Aherne
First female chief executive appointed at The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust

The first female Chief Executive of The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust has just been appointed.

Julia Weston, who has been Fellowship Director at the Trust for the past seven years, will become the eighth leader of the organisation in its fifty year history.

Julia takes over from Major General Jamie Balfour on 1st August 2015, as he retires from post after eight years as Director General.

The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust was established shortly after Sir Winston’s death in 1965, as his national memorial and living legacy. Since then it has awarded over 5100 Travelling Fellowships.

‘2015 has been a wonderful 50th anniversary year for the Trust. As we now set out towards our century I am delighted, and honoured, to be leading such an inspiring and diverse organisation, where the Churchill Fellows are at the heart of all we do. They are remarkable people, who share a desire to do something to improve the lives of others in the UK,’

comments Julia Weston.

Before joining the WCMT in 2008, Julia spent eight years in the Tibetan exile community in north India. She worked with a team of thirty five Tibetan staff designing and implementing health, welfare and education programmes to help the refugee community adapt to their lives in India.

‘With her great knowledge of the Trust and of our Fellows, Julia is the natural choice to lead the organisation forward. We are delighted with her appointment,'

explains Lord Fellowes, Chairman of The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust.

Churchill Travelling Fellowships offer a unique opportunity for individuals to travel globally and return with fresh ideas and new solutions to the issues facing us today, benefitting their profession, community and the UK as a whole.

The application process for travel in 2016 is now open until 22nd September 2015, and there are 11 varied categories in which people can apply.


The Changing of the Guard - 32 years of past and present Director Generals of the WCMT (from left to right) Lieutenant General Sir Richard Vickers (1983 – 1993), Major General Jamie Balfour (2007 – 2015), Julia Weston (2015 >), Air Vice-Marshal Nigel Sudborough (2002 – 2007), Lieutenant General Sir Henry Beverley (1993 – 2002).