Award categories

"The extent and quality of the Fellows' work has been remarkable - and long may it continue." - UK Secretary of State for Education, 2017

Register for application alerts


Our application process this year has been affected by the Covid-19 pandemic. Latest news on applying can be read here.

Applying for a category

Every year we offer Fellowships in a series of 'award categories' that reflect key contemporary issues. These will be announced prior to the date that applications open.

In addition, there is always an Open category for any topics beyond this range. 

Applicants are encouraged to apply in a category relevant to their proposal, or else in the Open category.

Our thematic framework

Our categories evolve each year as new issues and trends emerge. They are selected to address eight universal themes in society: Arts and culture, Community and citizenship, Economy and enterprise, Education and skills, Environment and resources, Health and wellbeing, Governance and public provision, Science and technology.

Each category typically comprises 10 Fellowships and runs for three years. This creates a community of knowledge leaders in that subject, who can multiply their impact through networking and collaboration.

We welcome partners to support each category with their expertise or funding.

We develop new categories through our Advisory Council, who are experts in their fields.

Our themes    Annual newsletter    How to apply